The publication process

This chapter will discuss how Infoglue works when it comes to publishing. It will guide both editors, publishers, administrators and developers and it's been given a special section as it's such a critical part of the system / workflow.

General concepts

In Infoglue there are basically two things which can be published – content versions (the actual texts and attached assets) and page versions. To publish a site both pages and contents must be published to have the site behave like you expect. When publishing pages the system knows this and suggests related contents so you don't forget.

Initiating

The publication process is initiated when a user have decided that he/she are satisfied with the work on a modified content version or a page and wishes to publish it to the official version of the site. As always the working copy can be viewed in the working-version of the site so he/she can confirm it looks nice there before publishing. When he/she thinks the version is mature he/she uses one of the "Publish"-buttons to start the publication process. 

State Publish vs Published

The result of setting a version to publish should be interpreted as a suggestion/plea to the publisher to publish the new version. What really happens is that there will be a task created which the publisher should respond to either by publishing it or to refuse it. There will be a dialog when you change to publish state. It is there to allow the user to specify what he has done so the editor can understand it better.

Overriding modifyer

As you can see above the user sending the content for publishing also can choose if he/she should be set as the last modifier (overriding the last person editing the texts) and one can also choose to have Infoglue send a mail to concerned publishers so they know there are items up for publishing.

The same applies to site nodes as we already said. On each node there is a similar state which can be set.

Unpublish versions

When you want to unpublish certain items/versions you do this by using the "Unpublish" or "Unpublish all"-button.